TOP 5 MOVIES OF 2013

2013TOP5

These are my TOP 5 favourite movies of 2013:

1*. CLOUD ATLAS – Though technically a 2012 movie, it was not released in Australia until this year. One of the best films of the past decade. An instant classic.

1+. GRAVITY – A wonderful experience on the big screen. I look forward to re-watching this many times on blu-ray, also!

3. ENDER’S GAME – I really love this film. One day I might even gay-marry it! 😉

4. The MORTAL INSTRUMENTS: CITY OF BONES – I really liked the cast performances in this film, and I guess the movie itself greatly exceeded my zero expectations.

5. OZ The GREAT and POWERFUL – A superb visual movie, which tells a great story in an unorthodox way.

Most honourable mention to PACIFIC RIM – mecha vs monsters is always a winner! 😀

Of all the superhero movies of the year, MAN OF STEEL is the one that seemed to work best for me (and very unlucky to not be in my top5 of 2013). However, IRON MAN 3, THOR: The DARK WORLD, KICK-ASS 2, R.I.P.D. and The WOLVERINE ain’t that far behind, also.

It was also a superb year for sci-fi movies, with other notable films (good or bad?) – AFTER EARTH, OBLIVION, ELYSIUM, STAR TREK INTO DARKNESS, G.I. JOE: RETALIATION, The HOST, BOUNTY KILLER and The HUNGER GAMES: CATCHING FIRE.

A rather weak year for animation movies … however EPIC really appealed to me.

And one final mention for a movie that everyone seemed to hate, but I actually thought was excellent ….. The LONE RANGER. 🙂

* Note: FROZEN was not released until very LATE in 2013, thus I did not get to see it until early 2014. If I was to amend my list, I would place it #3.

Leave a Reply

