The AVENGERS (2012)

I’ve waited a few days after viewing the movie to properly gestate and evaluate the movie I had watched. You see, it’s not so much that I disliked The Avengers movie, I just think it’s not as amazing as many of my “fanboy” friends seem believe it to be.

The script is superb, we’d expect nothing less from Joss Whedon, but I have a lot of problems with the storyline, which I think is mostly dull and lacking genuine interest.

The film itself if quite slow moving, with the opening fifteen minutes quite painful to watch, until Robert Downey Jnr steps on screen and literally lights up the movie. His performance as Iron Man is once again wonderful, and the larger role for Scarlett Johansson’s Black Widow, combine to help the film gain some traction. Also, Mark Ruffalo as Bruce Banner/Hulk is probably the best performance we’ve seen of this conflicted character since the days of the classic live-action Incredible Hulk television series.

Among the things I was disappointed with was that Marvel had used five films to set-up these characters for this team-up, but hardly much of it seemed to really pay off. The film comes across more like Thor Part 2, and is certainly not the kind of Avengers movie I was looking for. I’ve been reading Marvel comics for nearly thirty years and genuinely love the Avengers franchise, so I know they could have done a much better story.

Maybe I’ll re-watch the movie soon and begin to be less harsh on it? But until then… I suggest people don’t believe the hype, though if you can be satisfied only with snappy dialogue and big explosions, then this might be The Avengers film you are looking for?

I just wish Disney had more faith and sunk more money into properly promoting a more enjoyable movie experience and potentially more interesting film franchise … John Carter.

score: 6.5 out of 10.

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

