The HUNGER GAMES (2012)

I’ve never read the book. So, apart from the trailer, which I really only seen maybe twice, I went into viewing the The HUNGER GAMES as spoliler-free and open-minded as possible.

I really enjoyed the movie. I like that it’s basically a satire of modern day “reality television contest shows”, as well as touching on the dystopia sci-fi environment that have long been of interest to me.

Jennifer Lawrence is excellent in the lead character – Katniss Everdeen, a strong-willed teenager with high morals and determination. However, I did get the feeling her appearance was contradictory to her character’s surroundings. She seemed way too pretty and graceful for a low-class citizen and miner’s daughter.

The supporting cast is also superb; Woody Harrelson, Elizabeth Banks, Donald Sutherland are great. Stanley Tucci gives an amazing performance and Wes Bentley may just have the most impressive cinema beard OF ALL TIME! I’m sure to see this facial feature replicated at many a future pop culture convention.

Storywise, The Hunger Games throws little surprise, and indeed tends to drag out the story quite slowly. My feeling was that movie was just a touch too long, at over 140 minutes, yet also believe some areas was under-developed or omitted. Despite flashbacks detailing much needed back-story and motivation, I would liked more knowledge of this future world. I guess two further films in the series might have the opportunity to address this.

A special mention to the film score and soundtrack, which always emotive and cohesive to the visuals. This is some of the best work I’ve heard from James Newton Howard for years!

Overall, the film is enjoyable to watch, especially if you can look past some of the obvious story flaws. Certainly worth repeated viewing, there is little doubt this movie will be a favourite for many young ladies for the years to come.

score: 9 out of 10.

5 Comments

Leave a Reply

