The MUMMY 3 – Tomb of the Dragon Emperor

Ok, I finally got around to seeing the third MUMMY film … Tomb of the Dragon Emperor.

You know, I don’t exactly hate this film, but I found very little to love about it.. except for those Yetis (those dudes LITERALLY save the movie!).  The film has numerous slow bits, though I can’t say I was actually bored.  I might get bored if I saw this movie twice, though?

There is no getting around the fact that the absence of Rachel Weisz is HUGE.  Maria Bello is a good actress, I really like her (check her out in History of Violence), and she does a nice job in this, but it just isn’t the same.  Not even close.  I would have preferred the Evie character to be written out of the story, than simply re-cast with an actress that it somewhat OPPOSITE than the character previously established.

At least Oded Hehr had the good sense to avoid this film, too.

So, now for the positives….  umm.. hmm.. ahhh… ohhh…  Well, I love Michelle Yeoh.. I could watch her all day.  Jet Li was criminally under-used, but he usually is!

No chance of buying this when gets released on DVD.

6 out of 10.

Leave a Reply

