2008 SUPANOVA Sydney Pop Culture convention

This weekend I attended the local pop culture convention – Supanova Sydney!

There was some great comic book guests, including legends Howard Chaykin and Joe Jusko and Aussie-grown talent of Nicola Scott (Birds of Prey – DC) , Stewart McKenny (Star Wars – Dark Horse), David Yardin (X-Men – Marvel), Ben Templesmith (30 Days of Night – IDW) and Jon Sommariva (Gemini – Image).

Walking down “artist alley”, I spent $90 buying comic book trade paperback and graphic novels produced by local creators; Jason Paulos (Eeek!, Hairbutt The Hippo), Tad Pietrzykowski (Dark Nebula) and J. Marc Schmidt (Slave Labor Graphics). Jason also did a great sketch for me (see below).

The great thing about the convention are the panels, and I watched as many as the comic book panels as I could, with the Chaykin panels being very informative. I think I learned more in an hour with Chaykin, than I have from reading comic books for over 25 years!

Leave a Reply

