INDIANA JONES AND THE KINGDOM OF THE CRYSTAL SKULL

Indiana Jones 4I saw Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull over a week ago, and I thought I’ll let the film gestate before commenting on it.

My initial reaction upon watching the film was “it’s a good film, but not a good Indiana Jones film”. Days after viewing the film, I actually felt more angry and disappointed about the movie. I honestly didn’t even have high expectations for the film, even though I’m a big fan of the franchise.

Nonetheless, I’ll start with the positives:

* John Williams film score is superb. But, his music ALWAYS is!

* Cate Blanchett was the best performance of the film, even though her character rarely used her abilities.

* I was very pleased to see Karen Allen back as Marion Ravenwood, even though she was sparingly used.

* Setting the movie in the 1950s was a good change for the characters and allows the series to progress in unlimited ways.

The negatives? Well, it’s not really an Indiana Jones film. I feel the archeology was weak, and it just seemed to be ANY characters going from A to B to C, etc. I don’t hate the Sci-Fi element of the story, but it just didn’t seem to make sense or be expanded to its’ possibilities.

I’m sure I’ll begin to like the film more upon repeat viewings. However, at this stage, I can’t see myself purchasing the DVD, nor would consider re-watching this film again for at least 5 more years!

6 out of 10.

Leave a Reply

